Start

Standalone Utility: Advanced Features

Cleaning Swap Files

When the operating system needs more memory to execute the currently active programs than is actually available as main memory (RAM) in your computer, memory pages which have not been in use for some period will be temporarily removed from RAM to make room, being copied into the swap space on the hard drive. (More information about the function of the memory management is available in the chapter The Pane Diagnostics.) In some versions of macOS, the swap space is implemented by one or more files located in a special folder reserved for this purpose.

In very rare cases, it can be necessary to clean these swap files, e.g. when the first part of the swap space is accidentally located in a defective location of the hard drive. Cleaning is possible in single user mode because the swap space is not in use here. You can perform the necessary steps as follows:

  1. In the main menu, type 4 to choose Advanced Features.
  2. Type 1 to call the function Clean Virtual Memory Files (Swap Space).
  3. Wait until the final results of the cleaning procedure are shown on screen.

Cleaning the swap space does not create more room on the hard drive, because the system has to reserve the space again during next normal startup.

Some versions of macOS can be configured not to use swap files, but a swap volume. In this case, it will neither be necessary, nor possible to clean the swap files. The Standalone Utility automatically detects this.

Disabling Automatic Login

In some cases, a program which cannot be quit during normal operation (like the Finder or the Dock) could cause a technical problem with your computer. Such a problem becomes even more severe if automatic login of a user is active, so the erroneous application is becoming active by itself after each startup. To resolve such a problem by using a second user account, the automatic login of a user after startup can be switched off by the standalone utility.

  1. In the main menu, type 4 to choose Advanced Features.
  2. Type 2 to call the function Disable Automatic Login.
  3. Wait until the final results of this operation are shown on screen.

Automatic login can be reenabled later if desired, by selecting System Preferences > Users & Groups > Login Options in macOS.

Enforcing a Rerun of the Setup Assistant

It is possible to make configuration changes to the operating system that inadvertently disable all administrative user accounts. This is a very critical situation because you may lose access to the system and also can no longer authenticate in order to fix this. The easiest solution to resolve such a situation is to force the operating system to re-run its Setup Assistant, the application that is usually started after you have installed or upgraded the computer for the first time. The macOS Setup Assistant will allow you to recreate the primary administrative user account, without losing or changing any other data.

To force the system to re-run its Setup Assistant the next time the computer is started, perform the following steps:

  1. In the main menu, type 4 to choose Advanced Features.
  2. Type 3 to call the function Re-run Setup Assistant upon next OS start.
  3. Wait until the utility confirms that the necessary steps have been completed.

After that, you can use 0 Quit TinkerTool System Standalone Utility in the main menu with the option 1 Reboot Computer to let the system start the Setup Assistant.

Uninstalling the Application in Single-User Mode

In case you should decide for some reason to remove the standalone utility from your system, the program itself can do so. Perform the following steps to remove the application:

  1. In the main menu, type 4 to choose Advanced Features.
  2. Type 4 to call the function Remove and Quit this Program.
  3. Wait until uninstallation has been completed. You will then be returned to the single user prompt of macOS.